oct 7th thru oct 23rd, 2014

october 7th
arthur’s rock, lory state park
3.5 miles, 1:30, +1400′ vert. arthur’s rock with mackey, sarah and Andrew and another perfect, late afternoon day in colorado. haven’t been up there in a while. enjoyed the view for a while and descended a little before sunset. magic.

october 9th
toward the Perch
3.5 miles, :40, +600′ vert. perch #68. quick, fast jaunt on a cool autumn morning. trees are poppin’. focused on relaxed speed on the descent.

october 13th
Mill Creek trail, Towers Rd, Lory SP and Horsetooth Mtn Park
14 miles, 3:30, +3500′ vert. never felt good or comfortable during the run. probably started a bit fast, legs felt heavy after about an hour. i lost interest on my way back to the car (was going to add a quick 3.5 mile leg up to arthur’s rock but didn’t), then decided to sit down and enjoy the silence and landscape for awhile with about 2 miles to go. it was a bit of a strange outing. realized that, while I love/need time in the hills/woods, i rarely sit still for long–choosing to run through the landscape rather than sit. because my body was tired and knees were shot, I decided to take the last few miles slow and even stop (as mentioned above) for about 15 minutes. I was slightly disappointed by the effort but did enjoy the break toward the end. 14 miles is still a lot, anyway. and I’d rather be well rested with solid knees for the Canyon rather than risking it today.

october 19th
well gulch and timber trails, Lory State Park
8 miles, 2:20, +2000′ vert. started with a hike up well gulch and the timber trail switchbacks with Kels and Maya, then double-backed to the top after hiking most of the way back down with them. was feeling tired and unmotivated today–and most of the week–especially after last monday’s outing. But after a slight kick in the pants from Kels, I headed back up and enjoyed the quick pace on the descent. another fantastic fall day.

october 21st
the perch
6 miles, 1:10, +800′ vert. Perch #69 for 2014. enjoyed a fast ascent and an extended, quiet sit-down on top, enjoying the view while the weather’s still perfect. I wish it was autumn forever.

summary: I kept thinking that the Rim-2-Rim run this month would be motivation enough to get me back into a solid, consistent training rhythm, but that wasn’t the case. It’s actually not about motivation at all. I’m extremely excited and lucky to have the chance to run in the Grand Canyon this week, and am quite motivated to run well. But on the day-to-day level this month, other priorities have meant sporadic outings with little-to-no focus. Perhaps my body is rested enough from Leadville, and ready to get back into things, but I don’t think I’m mentally ready to commit to a new training plan–which requires a focus and…well, committment…that I’m not ready to give. I suppose this is a great time of year to rest–certainly my natural inclination during November and December. I’m hoping to keep my fitness level up though, so come January, if I’m “feelin’ it”, I can get back into a schedule. The Canyon will be amazing, and maybe that will get me rollin’ again. Not sure…
I’ve also had a stronger-than-usual desire to slow down and even stop during runs. It’s incredible how Lory can get so silent when my legs stop moving and I stand still, letting the silence take hold. Perhaps late fall and winter will be more run-and-stop/sits. Happy middle ground hopefully.

snow in the big hills; Longs Peak from top of Towers Rd

snow in the big hills; Longs Peak from top of Towers Rd

photo 3-2

rocky mtn national park from up near the Alpine Visitor Center

 

Leave a Reply

