week of may 5th thru may 11th, 2014 (mm 76)

Monday

6 miles, 1:05, +800′ vert. Perch #42. last actual run before the race. took it nice and slow. thought smooth thoughts. energy has returned so I’m hoping i’ll have plenty in the bank by Saturday. knee was ok til the last mile–it hates pavement. we’ll see.

Tuesday

slept and cleaned the house. 

Wednesday

2 miles, :20.  just gettin’ the legs to turnover without using much energy. had a massage yesterday on campus with kelly–he rocked me like a wagon wheel and today my knee and legs feel great. i’m goin’ back to that guy. 

Thursday

2 miles, :22. another leg stretch around the neighborhood. legs feeling loose and rested.

Friday

hung out with dad and the Dude and prepared for tomorrow’s throw down.

Saturday

50.1 miles, 13:43, 12,000′ vertical gain.  (note: vertical gain from Everest Base Camp to the Summit? 11,500 feet. Ha!). In short, the first half went great. The second half was a nightmare. It was the first time I actually wanted to quit a race. But I’m pretty happy I kept going and finished. Although I was hoping for a sub-13 hour finish (ideally dropping 30-45 minutes off my time from last year), I’m actually surprised that, after such a lousy 15-20 miles I still was within 20 minutes of last year’s time. My knee held up well, thank goodness, and my stomach/energy was solid. I learned a lot of lessons of course, not least of which is that you just never know what’s going to happen. second, I have got to incorporate more strength training, speed, and hill work (probably in the form of repeats, along with long ascents like Towers once a week). I definitely need to rest in the next couple days, but am already anxious to get back to training. Time is running short (2 and 1/2 months of solid training to go) for Leadville. I’m feeling an urgency that was provoked by a sub-par performance and the knowledge that Leadville will make Quad Rock look like a Sunday stroll in the park.

Sunday

yeah right. 

Weekly Totals

60 foot miles, 15:30, ~13,000′ vertical gain (217’/mile…nice).  I think i’ve written about as much as I can on what happened Saturday (see Quad Rock Report below). It was a great learning experience, to say the least.  By Sunday night and into Monday my body recovered quicker than I was expecting.  Amazing how bodies can bounce back from being annihilated (sometimes…).  My hope is that by next weekend I’ll be back to training, with a marathon-length outing within ten days.  At the very least it better be a quicker return-to-training than after last year’s QR50 (I didn’t run again for three months…)!  Thanks for all your support!

Leave a Reply

